Log in

Administrator in Reading Award


Award Guidelines

The Arkansas Literacy Association (ALA) has presented the Administrator in Reading Award annually since 1990. The purpose of this award is to recognize administrators in the state of Arkansas who have significantly contributed to the improvement of reading instruction and/or who have promoted lifetime reading habits.

To be eligible for this award, a person must be an administrator or supervisor in an Arkansas school district(s). An administrator or supervisor shall be defined as a school superintendent, assistant superintendent, principal, or assistant principal.

A nomination for this award must be completed and electronically signed by at least three (3) members of the nominee’s local reading council, who are also members of the Arkansas Literacy Association and the International Literacy Association. There is a space on the form to type in their information. Please also include a photograph of the nominee and a signed statement giving permission to release this information for publication.

The application will be evaluated by a committee of ALA members according to the accompanying rubric. The chair of the selection committee shall be the Chair-Elect of the Arkansas Literacy Association. Please contact ALA Chair-Elect Tammy Gilmore at with any questions.

Additional Resources:

Award Recipients

      • 2021:  Ashley Hammett
      • 2020:  Roger Ried
      • 2019:  Kathy Parish
      • 2018:  Patty Smith
      • 2016:  Trudy Jackson

Address: 904 Osage Drive, Redfield, AR  72132
Phone: (501) 416-3992

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software